I was just now talking to my friend Molly and I reminded her that Sunday night, August 23, is 350 Dreamers’ night to dream for global healing.

“I’d like to join you, but how do I do it?” she asked.

A lot of people ask me this. They say they don’t always remember their dreams, don’t know how to incubate dreams, and aren’t sure they can do it. So, I’ve been thinking, what exactly are we doing, anyway? What’s important about this process? And can anybody do it?

Here’s what I told Molly:

The most important step in this process, might just be the intending. If you do nothing else … if you don’t remember your dreams … you can still intend.

“Intend to dream for global healing on the night of August 23rd,” I told Molly.

“But how do I do that?” she asked.

The simplest answer is simply this: State before bed, “I intend to dream for global healing tonight.”

Taking it one step further, you can write your intention down.

And one step further again … begin setting this intention during the day. As you go about your tasks, anticipate the night of dreaming, and your intention to focus your dreams on global healing. Be receptive through your senses to the Earth. Take in its beauty, receive its abundance, open your heart to the sounds of birdsong or cricket song, or wind or water. Meditate if that appeals to you.

Be on the lookout for a natural object during the day: a stone, feather, flower or shell that you will place by your bed as you set your intention to dream for the earth at night.

This way, before we even go to sleep, we are creating our own dream of global awareness and unity through the simple and meaningful act of intending.

Happily, Molly agreed. I hope you do, too.

